EU/ME - the metaheuristics community

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Announcements Prizes and Awards EURO Doctoral Dissertation Award 2015

EURO Doctoral Dissertation Award 2015

E-mail Print PDF

The EDDA (EURO Doctoral Dissertation Award) is a EURO instrument. It consists of a prize that is awarded at each EURO-k conference. The purpose of the prize is to distinguish an outstanding PhD thesis in Operational Research defended in the countries having an OR society that is member of EURO. It will be awarded for the seventh time at the closing session of the EURO XXVII Conference in Glasgow.

Eligibility of applications

The EDDA 2015 jury will only consider PhD theses in Operational Research defended between 15 January 2013 (i.e., the deadline for the preceding edition of the prize) and 15 January 2015. The dissertation must have been defended in a University located in a member country of EURO. The author of the dissertation must be a member of a member society of EURO.

To be considered, a dissertation should be nominated by the supervisor of the thesis (one of them in case of multiple supervisors). The supervisor of the dissertation is asked to provide the jury with the following information:

  1. The text of the dissertation;
  2. An extended abstract (3 to 5 pages) of the dissertation; this abstract should be written in English and should include precise keywords;
  3. If the dissertation contains co-authored articles, be it published papers or unpublished manuscripts, the candidate's contribution has to be specified for each co-authored article;
  4. If the dissertation is not written in English, a paper in English authored (or co-authored) by the author of the dissertation and describing the core ideas of the thesis. This paper should preferably have been published in or submitted to an international journal;
  5. Nomination letters (or reports) from two referees selected by the dissertation supervisor, supporting the submission and stating their assessment of why the thesis should win the award;
  6. An up-to-date CV of the candidate, including a list of publications.

No nomination will be considered without these items.

Since many PhD theses in OR are defended each year, the jury would like to remind supervisors that only outstanding pieces of work have a reasonable chance of winning the award.


The jury consists of:

  • Hartmut Stadtler (Germany) - chair
  • Ahti Salo (Finland)
  • Richard Hartl (Austria)
  • Maria Antónia Carravilla (Portugal)
  • Lidija Zadnik-Stirn (Slovenia)

You can read more here.


Last Updated on Wednesday, 29 October 2014 08:20  


EU/ME 2017

Submit now your abstract.

Metaheuristics Events

<<  October 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Who's Online

We have 158 guests online